The OptimoRoute Driver app uses location tracking to share drivers’ locations while they work on their routes. This article explains how location tracking works, why it's used, and how to turn it on or off.
| Who can use this feature | |
|
|
All plans |
|
|
All drivers |
|
|
All regions |
What does location tracking do?
The OptimoRoute Driver app uses location tracking to share drivers’ locations in real time while they work on their routes.
Location tracking allows OptimoRoute to:
Show the driver’s live location in the dispatcher web app
Display route breadcrumbs in live tracking and plan history to show where drivers have traveled
Provide more accurate ETAs to customers
Send “Driver On the Way” notifications
Support OptimoRoute Truck Navigation
Automatically start and complete orders using geofencing
Record actual start and end locations for orders/stops
|
|
Both admins and drivers can disable location sharing. If location tracking is turned off in the driver app or device settings, some of these features may not work as expected. |
Location tracking settings
By default, drivers can manage their own location tracking preferences. Admins can also set account-wide location tracking settings.
To configure location tracking from the admin app:
- Go to Administration → Settings
- From the left menu, choose Driver app → Configuration
- Scroll down to “Location tracking”
- Choose the option that works for your team
|
|
The OptimoRoute driver app only tracks a driver’s location when their status is set to “On Duty.” |
Enabling and disabling tracking from the mobile app
If admins enable “Allow drivers to choose their preferences for ‘On Duty’ location tracking,” drivers can turn location tracking on or off in the OptimoRoute driver app.
To disable location tracking:
- Open the OptimoRoute Driver app on your phone
- Tap “Settings” in the bottom right corner
- Under “Location Tracking”, toggle the switch on to disable or enable tracking
|
|
If location tracking is turned off in the driver app, some of the OptimoRoute features and analytics may not work as expected. |
App permissions
When location tracking is enabled, drivers must allow location access on their phone and set the permission to “Always.”
This allows the OptimoRoute driver app to continue sending location updates while running in the background, such as when a driver uses a third-party navigation app.
|
|
Location tracking automatically stops when the driver switches their status to “Off Duty”. |
Location tracking and analytics reports
OptimoRoute uses location tracking data to measure driver activity and route performance, including:
- Route breadcrumbs
- Actual travel times
- Route distances
- Service times
- Driver activity
Learn more about analytics reports here.
To keep tracking data and reports accurate, drivers should:
- Switch to “On Duty” when they are ready to start their route.
- Switch to “Off Duty” when they finish their work.
|
|
Staying “On Duty” outside of active route time may lead to inaccurate tracking data and affect analytics reports. |