Admins can control how drivers manage orders in the OptimoRoute Driver app. This article explains each workflow setting and how it affects the driver’s order process.
| Who can use this feature | |
| All plans | |
| Users that have administrator privileges | |
| All regions | |
Changing workflow settings
Use "Workflow" settings to control how drivers manage orders and routes in the OptimoRoute Driver app.
To change the driver workflow settings in the OptimoRoute Driver app:
- Go to Administration→Settings→Driver app
- Choose “Configuration” from the left menu
- Find the section called “Workflow”
- Select the options that you want to enable or disable
- Click "Save"
Below you will find an explanation of what each of these settings does in the driver app.
Allow drivers to reject orders
By default, drivers can reject an order before they start service. They can use this option when they cannot complete the order.
You can also configure proof of delivery requirements for rejected orders. For example, you can require drivers to add a note, take a photo or get a signature for rejected orders.
Allow drivers to override the default schedule (start service out of sequence)
This setting lets drivers complete orders out of sequence.
Drivers can skip ahead to another order without removing any orders from their to-do list. The original orders remain assigned and must still be completed.
Allow drivers to undo order completion
This setting lets drivers undo a completed order.
Drivers can use it to add missing information or correct details after marking the order as completed.
Hide start service button
The "Start service" button records when a driver begins work at a location. It allows OptimoRoute to capture the start time of an order.
You can hide this button to reduce the number of steps needed to complete an order. However, OptimoRoute will record the actual service duration as "0 minutes".
Offer Success/Failed choice when order is completed
This setting lets drivers mark an order as "Completed" or "Failed".
When this setting is disabled, drivers can only select "Completed". The order is then removed from their to-do list.
This setting is ignored when proof of delivery is enabled. In that case, the "Completed" and "Failed" options appear automatically.
Add order completion directly from the order list
This setting adds action buttons below the first order in the driver’s to-do list.
Drivers can start service and complete the order without opening the order details.
Require drivers to manually start/end routes
This setting requires drivers to start and end their routes in the Driver app.
This helps OptimoRoute record more accurate route start and end times. It can also update ETAs when a driver starts later or earlier than planned. Learn more about this feature here.
Use button instead of slider to complete orders
By default, drivers use a slider to complete an order. This helps prevent accidental completion.
Enable this setting to replace the slider with a button. A button may be easier for drivers to use while working, and allow for one-tap completion.
Skip confirmation dialog when overriding or rejecting orders
By default, drivers must confirm before they reject an order or complete orders out of sequence. This helps prevent accidental changes.
Enable this setting to remove the confirmation step and reduce the number of taps in the Driver app.
Geofencing [beta]
Geofencing is a setting in the OptimoRoute Driver app that automatically starts orders when you arrive and completes them when you’re finished. Learn more about the geofencing workflow option here.