When you send order tracking notifications, you can also share your drivers’ real-time locations with customers. This article explains how to set up driver location sharing.
| Who can use this feature | |
| Pro and Custom plans | |
| Users that have administrator privileges | |
| All regions | |
Sharing driver locations with customers
When you send real-time order tracking notifications, you can also share your drivers’ real-time locations with customers.
Order tracking notifications keep customers updated about their orders by email or SMS. Depending on your settings, they can include information such as the scheduled time, ETA, order status, and a link to the order tracking page.
Learn more about real-time order tracking here.
Configuring driver position settings
Keep these points in mind when sharing driver positions:
- Driver position can be shown up to 12 hours before the ETA
- Driver position is shown only while the driver is on duty
- Driver position is no longer shown after the order is completed
- The order tracking page updates in real time throughout the day
To choose how driver position is shared with customers:
- Go to Administration→Settings→Order Tracking
- Make sure you have order tracking enabled
- In the “General” section, find “Show driver position”
- Choose the option you want from the dropdown
In this section, you can also choose what information from the driver you want to share like their name and contact information.
Driver position options
Choose when customers can see the driver’s position:
- “Always” — Shows the driver’s position whenever position sharing is available
- “Just prior to service (default)” — Shows the driver’s position starting 30 minutes before the expected arrival time
- “Never” — Does not show the driver’s position on the order tracking page